The Ten Word Challenge – The Last War

If there’s one phrase guaranteed to get my writerley attention, it’s an “I Dare You …”, so when that nice Nosferatu VampireNomad proposed a challenge, how could I refuse? She assigned me ten words, chosen at random, and tasked me with including them in an article or short story. This kind of challenge is something of a tradition on her splendid site, and certainly “Me No Duende”, a fantastic piece written by Nathan Waddell that takes the ten-word challenge and OWNS it, made me wonder if I was up to the task. I enjoyed it immensely though, and VN has been kind enough to offer my story, The Last War, a home here … If you’re enticed to take a look, I would thoroughly recommend checking out the other articles and fiction you’ll find in the VampireNomad’s dark domain – wonderful stuff!

14 thoughts on “The Ten Word Challenge – The Last War

    1. Diolch yn fawr! 🙂 I’m really glad you liked it! Thank you for reading, wraig awdur glyfar! (Hope google translate didn’t let me down, there! 😉 )

      1. Haha, The translation is a little off : wraig or gwraig generally means wife. Lol. BUT I know you meant woman. So it’s okay! 🙂 Seriously though, I loved this piece. Mae gen ti digon o talent dy hunan! 😉

      2. Haha! I actually put “lady”! And thank you, joking aside, your kind words do mean a great deal to me. And I shall continue to work on my Welsh language studies! 😉

      3. It should have translated as ‘menyw’ then! Haha. 😀 Thanks, but you deserve them for working a clever masterpiece! Ah yes, I’m sensing a theme. Maybe that should be your next challenge 😉

      4. I did think about posting an FP in Welsh, but I think this conversation proves that I shouldn’t rely on Google! I still might do it just so you can have a laugh at the syntax etc!

      5. “The Winter” has spoken! It’s a deal! I’m signing off now but I’ll see what I can dream up! Should I let you see the FP first though, in case I get it hideously wrong somehow and become a kind of “Salman Rushdie” figure to the good people of Wales?

      6. She has 😉 You can if you want, but I have every faith in your google translate abilities. 😉 I can’t speak for all, but I’m sure they’d forgive easily and embrace your eagerness instead 🙂 Nos da, blodyn!

Leave a Reply

