Sheffield Cosplay Con 2017

Hello!

Firstly, my thanks to everyone who read and commented or messaged me about my previous post. I’m glad it struck a chord.

But as promised … my nerdy nonsense at Yorkshire Cosplay Con 2017!

 I’ve opted to break the weekend down into a kind of Top Five favourite things (there were many more than five, but I know how busy you all are and I wanted to make this a quick read!). So, in no particular order:

1.       The Props And Displays

There were a few displays and dioramas at the event, but my two favourites had to be the Batcycle, Bat costume and Bat-Signal, and the Heavy Blaster as used by the Snowtroopers on Hoth in The Empire Strikes Back (Geekily speaking, the weapon is an E-Web Heavy Repeating Blaster Cannon, but I’ll try not to keep saying powerfully sexual nerdy talk like that, in case anyone swoons before the end of the post!).

Of course, I couldn’t stop myself from getting involved with the props. No one was allowed on the Batcycle, but I did stand by to blast some Rebel scum with the cannon!

2.       The Cosplayers

Well … obviously. As always there was a wonderful variety of genres represented, with the usual skill and attention to detail that cosplayers bring to their art (and it IS an art). On the Saturday evening I danced with a female Doctor who had just the right screwdriver for her incarnation.

I really liked the Balloon Bender (stop giggling at the back!) who, with a weird kind of meta-sensibility, really was a balloon bender (he had a stall displaying his skills, including the balloon Batman pictured).

I took dozens of photos, but my favourite of all of them is probably either the one with Harley Quinn or the one where I’m kind of being terminally knighted by Negan. Maybe it’s the baseball bats, I don’t know.

3.       The Stage Shows

There were some EPIC performances over the weekend. I’m not much of a Pokémon fan, but the show by Jason Paige (singer of the first theme song for the English version of the anime) was fantastic, including a memorable moment where Jason sang the theme while a giant Pikachu danced in front of the stage and the audience threw Pokémon (beach) balls at him!

Some of the other stage shows showcased the cosplay, gathering together genres, so … we had all the superheroes together and suchlike. I loved the Doctor and the Daleks show, but the best had to be the Star Wars segment, when dozens of Stormtroopers and Biker Scouts and Tie-Pilots and Star Destroyer Officers strode out to the sound of The Imperial March (which, as an aside, is one of the tunes I’ve chosen for my funeral!).

 IMG_6694

The Minion show (where they were accompanied with fabulous randomness by Bananaman) was great fun, and I caught up with the Minions (one of whom I kinda sorta know from a previous Con) later on when they bumped into one of their own …

4.       The Geek Booty

Always the booty, always, and in addition to that I also bought lots of cool stuff at the Convention haha!

I got a Suicide Squad wallet and a Batman pocket watch, as well as some awesome new badges!

I got a few variations of these wristbands but this is the one I’m wearing first, because I thought it was a good way to self-identify. My name is Roger, and I am a Nerf Herder.

IMG_6807.JPG

Best of all though … I got these Boba Fett cufflinks AND these ones in the shape of a certain Type 40 Time Travel Capsule … Stop swooning!!!

 

5.       Everything Else

It’s hard to get across the flavour of a Con in writing, the electric thrill of not knowing who, or what, is around the next corner. For me, it was often a Rollover Hotdog.

IMG_6642

But everything about the experience was wonderfully positive and affirming, to the point where one might even feel like singing.

In the shower.

Dressed as Deadpool.

IMG_6675.JPG

 

If you made it this far, thanks for reading!

 

 

IMG_6691 

Leave a Reply

